Our Boards of Directors

(757) 668-7000

Children's Health System

Christine Neikirk, Chair

The Board of Directors for Children's Health System has governance authority over all affairs, property, and funds of Children's Health System and CHKD.

  • Buffy Barefoot
  • John R. Lawson, II 
  • Julie Childress Beck 
  • Miles Leon 
  • Michelle G. Brenner, MD 
  • Kevin Murphy
  • Martha Colen 
  • Robert J. Obermeyer, MD 
  • Jim Dahling 
  • Marta S. Satin-Smith, MD 
  • Susan R. Einhorn 
  • Elly Bradshaw Smith
  • R. Justin Fulton
  • Svindor S. Toor, MD 
  • Kim Georges
  • Kathryn M. Van Buren 
  • Edward A "Buzz" Heidt Jr.      
  • Edward D. Whitmore
  • Akhil Jain 
  •  F. Blair Wimbush

Children's Health Foundation

Larry Bernert, Chair

The Children's Health Foundation serves to invest, grow and safeguard the assets of the Children's Health System. Additionally, the Foundation Board is frequently utilized as a participant in the Health System strategic planning.

  • Dan Boyle
  • Katherine M. Knaus
  • Mark Compton
  • Michael Matacunas
  • Jim Dahling
  • Merrick McCabe
  • Kimberly Geiger
  • Kim McMillan
  • Owen Griffin
  • Sherri Miles
  • Doug Hillebrandt            
  • Matthew Nusbaum
  • Trey Huelsberg
  • Sharon Owlett
  • Kelly Johnson
  • Karen Priest

The King's Daughters

Julie Childress Beck, President

The King's Daughters Board is elected annually by the membership and is the decision-making body of The King's Daughters.

  •  Paula Adams
  •  Kristina Malleck
  •  Donna M. Cowdrey
  •  Taylor Preist
  •  Laura Fulton
  •  Kathy Protogyrou
  •  Chandy Jones
  •  Mary Beth Sims Rickman
  •  Kristi Jones
  •  Sunny Barlow Sonner
  •  Katherine M. Knaus
  •  Ashley Friend Vellines
  •  Carrie Lauck
  •  Stacey J. Vellines
  •  Nicole Federinko Legum
  •  Carrie Williams


Development Advisory Board

Wendy Goldberg, Chair

The Development Advisory Board is comprised of regional business and community leaders who serve the Health System by furthering fund-raising and development opportunities, serving as ambassadors throughout the business community, and acting as advocates for the Health System, its needs, and its philanthropic efforts.   

  • Susie Archer
  • Brad Martin 
  • Deb Vollmer
  •  Todd Copeland     
  • Sean Meehan
  • Susan Whitten 
  • Edward Deets 
  • Richard Meredith
  • Rolf A. Williams 
  • Walker Dorroh 
  • David E. Russell 
  • Bennett Zier 
  • Pace Edwards 
  • Stephen E. Sigmon     


  • Stephen A. Leon 
  • Andrea Vail


    Child Abuse Development Board

    Sarah Bishop, Chair

    The Child Abuse Development Board is a group individuals passionate about advocating for and supporting the needs of our Child Abuse Program. Their focus is on fundraising, advocacy, community education, and philanthropic introductions for this program. 

    • Warren Aleck
    • Solon E. Paul 
    • Lawrence Steingold 
    • L. Ashley Brooks
    • Jenn Pfitzner
    • Lydia C. Taylor
    • Jean Compton
    • Betsy F. Phillips
    • Sandra Warden
    • Scott Duncan
    • Jim Schneider
    • Dorothy Winn
    • Sandra Harrison
    • Ken B. Shewbridge
    • Judi Worley
    • Lynn Hornsby
    • Gay W. Shulman
    • Nancy Yokois, MD
    • Maureen E. Olivieri
    • Lisa Smith


      Future Generations Board

      Lee Westnedge, Chair

      The Future Generations Advisory Board is a group of young leaders in the community whose mission is to educate, advocate and support CHKD within their professional, personal, social and other relationships and to actively participate in one or more philanthropic undertakings each year to benefit the hospital and annual financial contributions.

      • Shawn Ambrose
      • Stephen Klimkiewicz
      • Ashley Bussey
      • Stephan Lipskis
      • Dennis Cestra, Jr.
      • David Poteran
      • Cynthia Chaing
      •  Cameron Reeves Poynter
        • Billy Chard
        •  Amy Przymuzala
          • Katie Denton
          •  Shikma Rubin 
            • Matt Fanghella
            •  Will Russell 
              • Nate Fine
              •  Leah Swatts
                • Brooke Garrett
                •  Jill K. Wainger 
                  •  Katherine Hines
                    • J. Britton Williston 
                    • Ryan King


                    • Katherine Wynne



                        (757) 668-7000