Our Boards of Directors

(757) 668-7000

Children's Health System

Christine Neikirk, Chair

The Board of Directors for Children's Health System has governance authority over all affairs, property, and funds of Children's Health System and CHKD.

  • Buffy Barefoot
  • John R. Lawson, II 
  • Julie Childress Beck 
  • Miles Leon 
  • Michelle G. Brenner, MD 
  • Robert J. Obermeyer, MD 
  • Martha Colen 
  • Marta S. Satin-Smith, MD 
  • Jim Dahling 
  • Elly Bradshaw Smith 
  • Susan R. Einhorn 
  • Svindor S. Toor, MD
  • R. Justin Fulton
  • Kathryn M. Van Buren 
  • Kim Georges
  • Edward D. Whitmore 
  • Edward A "Buzz" Heidt Jr.      
  • F. Blair Wimbush
  • Akhil Jain 


    Children's Health Foundation

    Larry Bernert, Chair

    The Children's Health Foundation serves to invest, grow and safeguard the assets of the Children's Health System. Additionally, the Foundation Board is frequently utilized as a participant in the Health System strategic planning.

    • Dan Boyle
    • Katherine M. Knaus
    • Jim Dahling
    • Michael Matacunas
    • Kimberly Geiger
    • Merrick McCabe
    • Chris Graves
    • Kim McMillan
    • Owen Griffin
    • Sherri Miles
    • Doug Hillebrandt            
    • Sharon Owlett
    • Trey Huelsberg
    •  Karen Priest
    • Kelly Johnson


    The King's Daughters

    Julie Childress Beck, President

    The King's Daughters Board is elected annually by the membership and is the decision-making body of The King's Daughters.

    •  Paula Adams
    •  Kristina Malleck
    •  Donna M. Cowdrey
    •  Taylor Preist
    •  Laura Fulton
    •  Kathy Protogyrou
    •  Chandy Jones
    •  Mary Beth Sims Rickman
    •  Kristi Jones
    •  Sunny Barlow Sonner
    •  Katherine M. Knaus
    •  Ashley Friend Vellines
    •  Carrie Lauck
    •  Stacey J. Vellines
    •  Nicole Federinko Legum
    •  Carrie Williams


    Development Advisory Board

    Wendy Goldberg, Chair

    The Development Advisory Board is comprised of regional business and community leaders who serve the Health System by furthering fund-raising and development opportunities, serving as ambassadors throughout the business community, and acting as advocates for the Health System, its needs, and its philanthropic efforts.   

    • Susie Archer
    • Pace Edwards 
    • Stephen E. Sigmon
    • Catherine Callahan     
    • Stephen A. Leon
    • Deb Vollmer 
    • Todd Copeland
    • Brad Martin
    • Susan Whitten 
    • Edward Deets 
    • Richard Meredith 
    • Rolf A. Williams 
    • Walker Dorroh 
    • J.T. McDonald     
    • Bennett Zier 
    • Janet D. Dungan 
    • David E. Russell


      Child Abuse Development Board

      Sarah Bishop, Chair

      The Child Abuse Development Board is a group individuals passionate about advocating for and supporting the needs of our Child Abuse Program. Their focus is on fundraising, advocacy, community education, and philanthropic introductions for this program. 

      • Warren Aleck
      • Solon E. Paul 
      • Lawrenc Steingold 
      • L. Ashley Brooks
      • Jenn Pfitzner
      • Lydia C. Taylor
      • Jean Compton
      • Betsy F. Phillips
      • Sandra Warden
      • Scott Duncan
      • Jim Schneider
      • Carol Weinstein
      • Sandra Harrison
      • Ken B. Shewbridge
      • Dorothy Winn
      • Lynn Hornsby
      • Gay W. Shulman
      • Judi Worley
      • Maureen E. Olivieri
      • Lisa Smith
      •  Nancy Yokois, MD 

      Future Generations Board

      Lee Westnedge, Chair

      The Future Generations Advisory Board is a group of young leaders in the community whose mission is to educate, advocate and support CHKD within their professional, personal, social and other relationships and to actively participate in one or more philanthropic undertakings each year to benefit the hospital and annual financial contributions.

      • Ashley Bussey
      • Stephen Klimkiewicz
      • Dennis Cestra, Jr.
      • Stephan Lipskis
      • Cynthia Chaing
      • David Poteran
      • Billy Chard
      •  Cameron Reeves Poynter
        • Jason Deans
        •  Amy Przymuzala 
          • Katie Denton
          •  Shikma Rubin 
            • Matt Fanghella
            •  Will Russell 
              • Nate Fine
              •  Leah Swatts 
                • Brooke Garrett
                •  Jill K. Wainger 
                  •  Katherine Hines 
                    • J. Britton Williston
                    • Ryan King
                    •  Katherine Wynne


                      (757) 668-7000